Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Getting there.

I seem to have been packing for weeks, but some rooms are actually clear now. JR likes to have more of a system - finish one room at a time. I prefer to flit about. But many rooms are looking quite cleared now. And piled up with boxes - mostly all carefully labelled with the contents, though not all. Amazing how I can spend ages packing a box, seal it up, get the pen out and... can’t remember what I’ve just packed!

The new owners will come to visit at the weekend, there will be some things they'd like us to leave. So I'll clean the stairs for the last time. The new lot of students up the stairs are pretty good, but all the boys SLAM their door, at all times of the day and night. I'm sure they kick it shut. Normally, I'd be up to see them sharpish, and ask nicely that they desist. But this year so far, I haven't bothered, thinking I'd be moving soon. I was quite pleased at my restraint. But today, there was a humungous BANG and one of the lads trotted downstairs to be greeted by the sweet old lady in the bottom flat (me).

'Er, any chance of not banging your door shut?'

He was charming and most apologetic - hadn't realised. He had his iPod in. But I really can't be bothered going up to the kids in the top flat and asking them to stop dropping sweetie wrappers on the stair. Who would let their kids do that??

So nothing much else to report today, but things have been accomplished, and I have a sore back to prove it. Just getting rid of another bottle of wine to save packing it. They must be quite old, as the last couple of bottles we’ve opened have been corked. As in - corks in the bottle, not corked wine. We buy screw tops now, because wrestling with a cork that doesn’t want to come out is not fun. Just as well we’re pretty determined. Cheers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.