MerlotsDad

By MerlotsDad

Looking East

I had to go to the tip this morning & diverted up Stablebridge Road in Aston Clinton. This view is looking over Buckland Wharf, then on to Ivinghoe Beacon towards Whipsnade & Dunstable. Its a cool grey day but the Beacon is clearly visible on the horizon (right). From there I went to Aston Clinton Park for a nose as I had never been; a Rothschild House stood near here, before being demolished in the 20th Century

So...You remember the story of the man who bought the 2 cabinets & a bed but never came back for the cabinets ?
Well I decided to try to sell them again & last night C took a call from someone who was very interested. We arranged that he visit at 1945 but at 1930 he rang to say that he had seen some others en-route & had bought those instead. Of course I was annoyed as I wanted them gone. Any how at 2000hrs we were watching the box when the doorbell went. I answered it & it was the man who bought them originally, who promptly put them in his car & drove off. It would be 2weeks today that he 1st came & we parted with the words "see you in half an hour!" Strange but true ....

By the way the cakes both turned out very nice & the rice pudding didn't last the night ! Even Peter came over for a slice of cake !

Carol's last working day today - I have really missed her ....but don't tell her !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.