Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

The Old Boathouses, Balquidder.

When we headed off for a few nights at St Fillans I had hoped for some reasonable weather to try and capture the Perthshire countryside in all its autumn splendour. Instead it rained or at least remained grey and overcast for 3 days.

As we left the hotel this morning there was just a glimmer of hope that it might brighten up. Then as we neared Lochearnhead the sun broke from between the clouds and lit up the golden and russet colours in the trees. The decision was quickly made to head to Balquidder for a walk beside Loch Voil and the chance of blipping the bright autumn colours I was after. By the time we parked the car it had clouded over and by the time we got to the lochside the rain was coming on.

By good fortune, we were close to three old boathouse on the lochside, which provided shelter from the worst of the rain. They also provided the opportunity to get a few blips. I liked this one taken from the inside of an old stone boathouse looking towards the shell of the neighbouring ruin. It kind of summed up the weather of the past few days!

I was tempted to go with the first blip I took when we reached Loch Voil, but I think I might keep that one for our autumn competition!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.