Lake Tjörnin

I had to go to Reykjavik today to apply for my UK visa, we will be at Heathrow for 6 hours in Dec on our way to South Africa, but having an unloved South African passport, I need a visa just for transitting the airport.

It took me over two hours to fill in the 13 page application, and the visit took 15 minutes, the guy looked through all the papers and they seemed to be OK (as they should be, I have done this so many times already), then I had to have my fingerprints and picture taken, and he told me it will take 3 weeks before my passport and visa will be back from wherever it is sent. The last time it took 3 days...not sure what this means, maybe more people are visiting the UK?!

Anyway, afterwards I took advantage of the good weather and walked along Lake Tjörnin to take a picture of one of my favourite scenes in Reykjavik, namely the beautiful houses and their reflections in the water. Apparently we are getting snow on Thursday, so I guess next time I see the lake, it might be totally icy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.