A Ballerina in the Cemetery

Hygrocybe calyptriformis, Pink Waxcap
Not too far from our house is a small cemetery. As there are quite a lot of trees with berries, I thought it might be a place to go to see winter thrushes, so after I'd finished some more painting, and the pouring rain had finally stopped, I set off. No birds, to speak of, but unexpectedly, there were huge numbers of the most beautiful waxcaps in the short mossy sward. I spend a wonderful hour or so photographing them, and ended up with quite a few photos I was really pleased with. When it came to choosing a blip, I would have found it difficult not to go with this one. Once thought endangered, it turns out it was just under-recorded.
I also made the acquaintance of Phillip, who was taking good care of this beautifully tended cemetery. He was delighted that I was so thrilled with the fungi, and told me he intended to continue to garden it so that the fungi would continue to thrive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.