Heroes

I should start by pointing out this is a pic taken of my computer screen and I have not been near a fire. I wanted to take something fire service related to draw attention to the fire brigade's demo that has been taking place in London today. My Dad was a fireman for most of his working life before he retired and I grew up feeling part of the fire service family. We spent a lot of time at the station and a large number of Christmases when Dad was working. He was an active member of the Fire Brigades Union and helped campaign and demonstrate against a range of changes being imposed on the service.

The latest government attack is trying to raise the age before fire fighters can retire. On my way home from work I bumped into a group of fireman waiting for the train home and they said the turnout had been about 8,000 which was great. They had come down from Norfolk for the day and it was nice to chat. There are more strikes planned to come and they have my full support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.