the colour green

By jukeys

heat...in more ways than one

So, we think Coquine might be coming in to heat any day now. She may even have already started...apparently it lasts around 15 days and on the 9th, 11th and 13th days she has her best chance of falling pregnant. We're going to see if Leo and her will have little cocker spaniels. Fingers crossed.

Given that Coquine may be ready soon, Pierre has left her with me for the week. Pierre left at crazy o'clock this morning and I hate seeing him go. It was lovely to wake up a couple of hours later though and see a wee furry face looking at me from her cushion at the end of the bed.

We went for a big walk with dad and Leo this afternoon - down to dad's garden, but along the river bed. The river was up really recently, so it was full of muddy places that were like sinking sand if you weren't careful. Dad nearly lost a trainer! Coquine loved walking in the mud, bathing in the river, and rolling in sanglier poo. Great! She had to get a quick dip back in the river for me to wash her off after that debacle! Still no obvious signs of Leo wanting to do the wild thing but every time Coquine did a pee, Leo marked it with his pee too - this is meant to be a sign. Ah well, we'll soon see!

The other reason I wanted to mention heat in the title is that it was so lovely and warm today - probably about 24 degrees or more in the sunshine. I was in a t-shirt for our walk and had put a scarf on which I had to remove half way down to the river. What a great place to live. I feel lucky today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.