Through my Eyes

By Kelso

My Brave Bogan

I took Bogan to the vet tonight because he had two hot spots on his back - itchy areas that usually respond to steroid treatment. I thought we would just have a quick visit. I was actually going to continue participating in the Challenge - today's word is "metal," so I thought I'd get a picture of Bogan on the metal examining table.

We had very sad news - the vet found a mass in his abdomen. This type of cancer, hemangiosarcoma, usually spreads to the spleen and that is what he believes has happened. He has lost 14 pounds (1 stone) in just a few months and is down to 166 pounds (11.8 stone).

The vet said just to enjoy each day we have with him. No way to tell how long he has - maybe a few weeks or maybe a few months. We are lucky that we have such a compassionate vet and veterinary assistant, shown here. They are both very good to Bogan.

So... forget the Challenge - I barely got this blip posted. I'm going to go sit on the couch where I know Bogan will join me to lay his head in my lap. Will try to catch up with your journals in the next few days. I'm sorry I've not been a very good blipfriend lately - have been posting but haven't commented as much as I should.

My boy is very handsome close up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.