A Year in Phnom Penh

By nellbj

Finding balance

In the last couple of weeks, I've really been concentrating on eating well. I think this is part of an over trend of trying to feel more balanced in life, with good work habits/ routines, more sleep, regular and diverse exercise, meditation and delicious and nutritious food.

This last part has involved lots of shopping and cooking. In Cambodia, it is often easier and cheaper not to cook yourself, but to eat out/ order in. But this isn't always good for you.

When I got home this evening, I roasted pumpkin, carrot and pepper with some oil and rosemary; mixed up some over-ripe bananas, a mango, a Battambang orange (all of which were in my fridge) and the passion fruit I got in today's veg basket (just started ordering from school) so I can have a fresh fruit smoothie in the morning; and made a bowl of cous cous spiced up with paprika into which I stirred chopped Cashew nuts, pistachios and feta cheese.

As I squeezed the orange, chopped the nuts and turned the roasting pumpkin, far from feeling stressed and annoyed at having to get food made, I felt a deep sense of pleasure at working with the ingredients and a real presence in the moment. And I have dinner breakfast and lunch made for the next two days.

Life in balance.

P.S. apologies for the rubbish picture - my husband has the camera so I am making do with the tablet camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.