As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

Section 8 Class B Champions

Wow.

I woke up at 5, 6, 7, and 8 today, each time from a dream about how we had own state quals. After a little while, I got up, played some League, and went to get myself a bagel.

At 12:00 it was time to get on the bus to Bethpage one last time. Today was State Qualifiers.

We arrived and walked to our spot way down the polo field. Before I knew it, we were leaving for our warm-up. Eventually, we got to the line and the race began. I didn't really feel like I was doing well, but I ended up running 17:22 and finishing first for Wantagh. Our top 5 came in one after the other and our spread was only 12 seconds.

We cooled down and on the way back, we went to check the results as a team. It has us down as losing to Manhasset by one point, but upon further analysis, we realized that they had left out our third runner. When they corrected that, we ended up winning 60 to 79! Words can't describe how I felt.

We did it. We made it to States as a team.

We watched the girls race and Avery and Megan made it to States, too!

Awards and pictures and hugs and smiles.

And then we took our last ride out of Bethpage.

The team had dinner at Panera and we ran into Kenny, Brendan, and Jack there.

Later tonight, I drove Avery, KP, and Grace to Bethpage to meet up with Maddie, John, and Matt. We walked around some haunted street thing before going to Friendly's. The food was horrible but I love my friends so it's all ok.

Unreal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.