EmilyRose7

By EmilyRose7

I blame my sister (Happy Birthday Coco!)

It is my sister's 31st birthday today...and also the day that I was taken to the hospital because I stumbled in the shoes she made my buy over the summer for Jordan and fell down a hill. I got 7 stitches in my knee and a sprained ankle. I'm pretty soar, on antibiotics and painkillers and find it more than ironic that it was because of the shoes my sister made me buy (that I didn't even like very much) and on the day of her birth.
Yep! Yep!

Maybe my mother should have named her Rosemary instead. Hmmmm... :)
Quiet the adventure today! My roommate and i were walking down the steep hill that we walk down everyday to go to school early this morning and I was cramming for my Arabic test that I was suppose to take today and I guess my multi-tasking skills are worse then I thought. I suddenly felt my left ankle roll and fall out of my "my sister is evil" shoes and fell flat down on my knees and face down the hill. All i could feel at first was my ankle and then I felt my knee! Oh man, I felt my knee.

It was gushing blood and very deep indent in the middle of my knee. So gross. After a few people pulled over to ask if I was OK and help me up (because people are crazy nice here), we walked down the hill to school as we feared they were probably gonna need to take me to the hospital for a butterfly clip bandaid thing at least.

One of the drivers at school took me and my roommate, Kendra, who came with me for support and to help with Arabic since she has been studying it for a few years and is WAY better then me. I've heard great things about how good the medical care is here in Jordan and I am vey happy to say it is true. We went in, the nurse was friendly and cleaned it all out and numbed my knee up. Then the unbelievably cute doctor, seriously, Kendra and I couldn't believe how cute (helped with the pain), came in and stitched me up, looked at my ankle and bandaged everything up.

I have to go back the day after tomorrow to get the dressing changed for my knee and then in about 2 weeks ago back again so they can take the stitches out. I told Kendra at the hospital how I felt all of this was my sister's fault because of the shows and then i realized it was her birthday....so really...its hard to deny this was her karmatic doing. However, I will say that between the two of us, I'm the one that is more mischievous then she is...but perhaps after 31 years she's changing the game. Intrigue!

I will now be calling upon my learned bucket bathing skills again as I can't get my knee wet for the next few days. Who knew bucket bathing would be such a handy skill. So, I'm soar and can't move either of my legs really, but I did get to take my test home and as test home exam instead of an in class exam....so certainly not a total loss in the day! My professors were so sweet. I went back to class to take my test and was only about 10 minutes late for my last session and my professor was like, "No! You're feet must be tired. Go home and rest. Do it at home and turn it in any time this week. Go! Rest!" and then insisted on giving me a piece of cake from the teachers lounge. It was pretty adorable.

Back to my sister! I found this card (the you are adopted/thats all card) above in the states before I left and I wrote on it to send it to her a few weeks ago and clearly never found the post office and got my act together to do so...so here you go Court. Happy birthday! So sorry you had to find out this way...OOOOOO...maybe this is why I fell today...maybe you knew I forgot to send the card. More intrigue. haha

Have a good bday Court! You are the stra-business!
Maybe next year we can aim for no stitches...just a thought! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.