MaryJo

By MaryJo

Tetherball

Tetherball is a game for two opposing players. The equipment consists of a stationary metal pole, from which is hung a volleyball from a rope, or tether. The two players stand on opposite sides of the pole. Each player tries to hit the ball one way, one clockwise, and one counterclockwise. The game ends when one player manages to wind the ball all the way around the pole so that it is stopped by the rope. It must not bounce......
When I was young I was a champion Tetherball player. As many years as I played I was undefeated. There even was an article about it in the local newspaper.
My Grandma used to come over and play with me and it is one of my fondest memories.
Today Emilie wanted to practice with me because she has a game at her school and wanted some tips. So in between raking leaves and making crafts with the 3 younger girls I went out and played tetherball.
I remember last year when Emilie spent the night we had to get up at 6 am to practice the game before I took her to school. I'm thinking she may be as competitive as her Grandma was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.