Anyone up for an adventure?

I had a meeting down at Scottish Parliament this afternoon so I cut down Calton Road and saw this graffiti on the wall just under the tunnel.

'Follow the white rabbit' has been used so many times in popular culture. The original use was in Lewis Carroll's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland in 1865. But since then it's been used in numerous films and tv, including Star Trek, Lost, The Muppets. Jurassic Park, and perhaps most notably, The Matrix. It's also been used to describe drug induced experiences - such as in the Jefferson Airplane song, White Rabbit.

It's become synonymous with taking a chance, and seeing where something unknown may take you. Despite its overuse and ignoring the drug connection, I do like it as an analogy. If you use your imagination, you can go anywhere and do anything. But a word of caution, you have to be prepared that you might just fall down a dark hole.

There were more white rabbits on the pathway, but I think they've been there a while, so I suspect the trail would have gone cold by now. An adventure seemed like just the thing for a grey Thursday afternoon, but alas, my journey didn't take me down that route. I ended up at Parliament learning how to use the Public Petitions Committee to influence policy.

I'm now looking forward to a night in eating pizza, watching TV and snuggling with the wee man. After a busy week, that's enough for me tonight!

P.S. You'll see I changed my journal name back to Simply Me. I missed it!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.