Today's the day

By sheilwill

Dipper

Today's the day ............................. to amble

Will had to go to a meeting of the Council for the Protection of Rural Wales today - and I had the day to myself. That meant I could take my time exploring this fascinating little town - learning a bit about its history - but taking in its Arts and Crafts and the odd teashop along the way.

And so now I could tell you all sorts of things about the turbulent history of Ruthin, whose name means 'red fortress' referring to its hilltop castle. In the Middle Ages the area was a much disputed borderland between England and Wales. The Welsh and English inhabitants mixed little - and lived in different streets of the town.

Ruthin saw conflict on several occasions, most dramatically when it was sacked by the charismatic Welsh rebel, Owain Glyndwr, in 1400, in his revolt against the tyrannical English, Lord Grey of Ruthin. Most of the buildings were burned down and the town was completely rebuilt in the early 15th century.

I feel I could be getting into areas of conflict myself if I carry on in that vein - so I will just show you a real highlight of my day. It was a lovely little dipper, bobbing up and down on a branch in the middle of the River Clwyd that flows through the town .........................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.