Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Let the battle commence...

It poured all morning and was cold! I felt sorry for the Lord Mayor's Parade in London in this weather, it surely was a washout.

Wrapped up warm, with wellies, brollies, warm hats and gloves we set off to watch Luke's rugby match (Adam was not playing as is ill with a bad cold). They were playing Harrow which is considered a serious rival as they have a very strong team with quite a few boys playing for professional clubs like Wasps and Saracens - partly a consequence of being London based.

It was a very exciting match, and despite the soggy pitch and the wet weather Luke's team played well and won 23-8. At one point the full back from Luke's team dived onto the ball only for his hand to coincide with someone's boot, dislocating two fingers. This happened right in front of me, and as I was squirming in sympathy for his pain, he unflinchingly ran up to the medic, who pulled both fingers into place, and within seconds he was back in the thick of the match again! I guess when that adrenalin is pumping they do not feel pain.

The light was fading fast, and by the end of the second half I could barely get any decent shots. I had to crank up the ISO's as I did not have a tripod. I rather liked their expressions as they went into the scrum here. I also liked this photo of Luke. Although it is blurred, I liked the determination on his face as he drives through the opposition, and the feeling of movement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.