Maid in Wales

By welshmaid50

Add Van t age.

We waited until after lunch for the weather to improve as the forecast said it would. It didn't, so we went to Porthcawl in the hope of blipping a pub. Passing through Nottage we saw this old van. A guy was watching me take the photo and he shouted across, you don't see them like that anymore . It is a Morris Z series van and it was produced from 1940 -1954, and over 51,ooo examples were built.
When i was small my Dad had an old GPO van similar to this. He painted it by hand, and the bottom half was black and the top was turquoise ,and you could still see the post office markings underneath. He used to come and meet me from infant school sometimes, and all my friends laughed at the van. I then used to say to him , please Dad don't meet me any more. He wanted to know why not ,and I said all of my friends are laughing at the van. He replied that i was lucky ,as most of the other kids didn't have transport. I can also remember the registration number which was JLD 142. Those were the days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.