Maid in Wales

By welshmaid50

~ The Brothers ~

Easy for me to decide what to blip today. This is a photograph of four brothers.
All four got called up and went to war.
Starting from the left is my Uncle Harold who was the youngest. He was in the Welsh Guards and later became a dispatch rider. He had a tough time.
Next is my Uncle Cyril who was the eldest and served in the Royal Signals.
Next is my Dad Arthur, who was the first to be called up. He served in the R.A.F. 38 squadron, firstly at Marham and got posted to North Africa. His unit was attached to the 8th Army, and saw service right through to Italy. He was called up not long after he got married to my Mum.
Next to him is my Uncle Clem who served as a sapper, in the Royal Engineers.
What was it like for my Nan and Grampa, their parents, knowing their four boys were away at war?
All four boys were lucky to meet up in North Africa, and my father who was a bit of a forager made them all a cup of tea. This meeting made it into the local paper of the time.
I have a leather diary that my father kept while he was in Italy in 1945.
My father was away for over 3 years and didn't see my brother also called Arthur, until he was three years old. I bet my Nan was glad to see them all come home safely.
Sadly they have all passed away now, but their stories live on.
These are my Fathers medals, which he was very proud of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.