Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Good Morning in America

Well . . . morning in Southern California to be exact. This is not a great photo. The little cheapie camera wasn't awake yet, but the other photos taken today where more of the campus construction, which still captures my attention much more than I ever thought it would.

I stopped on my walk to my office this morning, pulled out the camera, stuck the lense through the chain-link fence and clicked. The huge CAT bucket crane was at quite a steep angle on a enormous mound of soft dirt.

Later in the day I went upstairs into the library to view and click from the window there. Three big earth moving machines were re-arranging the dirt in that huge hole and the CAT crane was still on the soft chocolate-brown dirt hill. Honestly, I think they are all having a lot of fun.

At that library window, right next to me on the floor, were 2 female students with their books, papers, and materials scattered all over the floor. Why they were not sitting at a table with chairs or a couple of side-by-side study carrels was beyond me. So I snuck a photo of them, but it was not crisp (not that the one above is either). So I'll blip students some other day.

We have had so few colorful mornings that I want to capture this one in my journal so I can see it again. It was truly beautiful looking from our upstairs master bedroom across the wilderness meadow behind our house. The photo lacks quality and is not very good proof of the lovely view, but it was good enough for today.

I'm again extremely exhausted again this evening. The "push-off" at the beginning of the semester is fairly strenuous. I know that if I can "launch" well the remainder of the semester is smoother. Much of what I do is not teaching these young adults to write, it is teaching them to be students. Quite frankly most of them don't want to do or be either. They do want a degree and to make LOTS of money. Their innocence and their naivete would be refreshing if it was not so frustrating.

I wish a good Friday for everyone.
Good night for now.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.