Mist through the trees

The only shot I took all day. I think the sombreness fits the mood - the 11th day of the 11th month.

Because I am generally a positive person I was deeply touched by the story of Harold Jellicoe Percival. In case you missed it Mr Percival died at the end of October and his funeral was arranged for 11:00 on 11/11. The funeral director included a plea for a few servicemen to attend as Mr Percival didn't have any direct family but had served in the RAF during the war and it would be sad if the crem was empty. Social media picked up the story and there were tweets flying around to see if anyone in the Lytham area might be able to make it. The outcome was that some 500 people attended to pay their respects. The BBC coverage includes a bit of video - well worth watching.

I'm sure that there are parallels between the pomp and ceremony at the Cenotaph; the empty tomb, to the symbolism of people turning out to mourn this serviceman and I'm sure it'll take folk with far more gumption than me to draw them. I'm just glad that, once again, there is something we might point nature's cynics at to remind them that the world really is peopled by folk who will go the extra mile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.