Elysium

By Elysium

My Little Friend

This is a male Costa's Hummingbird, he and his mate call my yard home. I photographed his better half the other day, so today he wouldn't leave me alone. Buzzing me, chattering and whistling up a storm. So I went and got me camera, I found him taking breakfast on this Hummingbird Bush (Justicia californica) and I started clicking away. I think he knew this shot was the one, because after I took this image he zipped away and remaining unsocial the rest of the morning. These little creatures bring me a great deal of joy :o)

Sorry for the pixelation and the high ISO, so pretty when I can stop those wingbeats. I did my best to work it out in post-processing, hence the painterly effects. A lot of processing here, but I do enjoy the final image.

Please have a look at this More Substantial View.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.