Reflecting

Had the heads up on a Great Northern Diver in a pool, behind the SARA (Severn Area Rescue Association) on the Severn (surprisingly) estuary. Flown in from Iceland, I knew I had to check it out.

VAT inspection today and when given the all clear from Hubs shot down the M5 to Sharpness. A 35min drive with fading light....and ... you ...know.... you are going to be scrapping around for a blip....!

A few wrong turns, a very helpful man and I parked under a bridge by the canal, wrongly thinking, 'Brilliant'. Took a few shots made them large in camera and I'd got moorhens. Suddenly.... 'You took the wrong turning again..' hallooed from the bridge,'.. but you can walk.. ....dah ....dah'! So I did the walk with Tilly. Carrying the hideously heavy gear on my shoulder, got the bruises to prove it, actually did find the 'pool behind SARA'. Popping the dog lead over a spike I crept up on a bird on the pool. Saw a diving bird, long beak ...brilliant! After all that - thank goodness! Big relief!

Then... I looked down the lens! No way was this a Great Northern Diver, but Crested Grebe! Head shakes!! Took a shot of the Severn Bridge. (You can't tell I've got the wrong lens can you? :)) Light was dropping, it was quite spooky in the twilight; solitary amongst the boats near the estuary and not wanting to walk any further, we headed back to the car in the dusk. Think I need Tilly to 'man up' and pull a sledge! Quick shot of the dock cranes and headed home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.