stujphoto

By stujphoto

APT Semi-Finals Day

I thought I would spare you yet another tennis shot today as I am bound to want to show you one of the final. However, my whole day was taken up by tennis as I watched the doubles and singles semi-finals from about 12 noon onwards. This was taken between the afternoon and evening sessions and after a couple of days of intermittent rain, we were treated to fine weather and a lovely sunset with wispy clouds. This was captured in the forecourt of the O2 Arena.

I watched the Nadal/Federer semi-final from the gods which was a bit of a weird experience as they look a bit like matchstick men but you do get a very good view of the flow of play even if you cannot see the phyiscal effort they are putting into their shots.

The other semi-final with Djokovic playing Wawrinka, the new Swiss kid on the block was a bit of a foregone conclusion with much of the play being fought out from the back lines. However, Wawrinka has a formidable serve hitting over 130 mph regularly and his single-handed backhand top spin cross court is a joy to watch though it was much more in eviodece in the group match I saw against Ferrer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.