dfb24

By dfb24

Ducks

Lovely sunny day today--although it's still cold, at least the sun has melted most of the snow--there are just scattered patches left here & there. We went to South Shore today & there were all kinds of birds in abundance! Seagulls, ducks, pigeons, and a couple I've never seen before. One I couldn't find when I googled it, but the other, black with a white bill, is an American Coot--I learned something new! This mallard & hen I photographed looked like an old married couple having an argument! He'd quack at her, she'd swim along next to him, then he'd quack at her again. Finally she stopped & looked at him, (which is when I took this), he quacked & started swimming ahead, & she turned & started going the other way. Then he stopped & looked back to see where she was, quacked at her, she kept going, & he turned & swam after her! Guess we know whose the boss in that nest! Ha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.