The Black Dog

I was in town early this morning, I had an eye test booked for 9am. I wear contact lenses every day and I have glasses for when I take them out. Sadly I have not replaced my glasses in the last 3 or 4 years and they are woefully inadequate. My prescription has changed quite a bit in this time.

I get my contact lenses from Specsavers and they have an offer so that I can get reduced price glasses every two years. I ordered my new pair today - I'm quite excited about them. I pick them up next week! I'll blip them soon!

On my way home, I came across this Black Dog. He's located at the East End of Princes Street.

The Black Dog statues are a campaign by SANE, they were initially placed across England to raise awareness, reduce stigma and misunderstanding of mental health problems and to encourage more people to seek help. The campaign has now come to Scotland.

The attached notice says: Black Dog statues are a physical representation of invisible mental health problems such as depression and anxiety. The dogs help people to take notice and encourage them to afford as much support and empathy to those experiencing mental illness as they would to anyone suffering from physical illness.

It also asks us to talk about the campaign and share it however we can to help positively impact on the mental health and well being of people in Scotland. So here is my contribution to their cause.

In other news, I'm off to the cinema to see Gravity tonight!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.