Sally Hart

By rosiecatwoman

Greenham Sweater

Another Story : This precious garment got partialy knitted over 30yrs ago, sitting by a camp fire , chatting, chatting,with women at Greenham Common. I would stay a few days,then retreat to our london squat for a bath and get on with a huge training I'd started on, that would would take me into another profession.
The other notable things about this garment : I made up the pattern as I went along, it's knitted on the round, so no seams anywhere and it's long enough to keep my bum warm. The grey wool is Herdwick, a hardy lakeland sheep that The Wonderful Beartix Potter used to breed.
It's been worn and carefully hand washed endlessly and shows no sign of wear!. Good Eh!. Perhaps I'll be buried in it!.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.