Northern Exposure

By Northern

Chains

Spent a large part of the day in a seminar about funding available through the Big Lottery Fund. We are looking at the possibility of developing our community hall which is a pretty stagnant state. We would like to make a few alterations and make it a more vibrant centre for community activity.

I have never been involved in anything like this before and I must admit to being pleasantly surprised with the drive of people working in this field. It did seem to be very much knowing how to play the game and communicating your ideas in the correct way but if that means we get a better facility for the community I willing to play by their rules.

Did make me think should I play the lottery? I have done so on the odd occasion but not for ages as I felt I would rather donate the money direct. Having seen today that 28p in the pound does actually reach the ground level it made me wonder if the lottery is a better way of people accessing large amounts of funding. Then again, maybe I'll just stick a £1 in a jar each week and split it between a donation to the hall and another charity. That way I'm sure they get as much from me as possible.

On my way back from Kirkwall I spotted some folk with binoculars and realised they were watching dolphins. Dashed back and picked up Steven and the boys. We did get to see them, Arrow has uploaded a pic on his blip but I only got to use the camera on the way back along the pier. Luckily there was plenty of blippage available. The links in this chain were about 30cm long. I haven't a clue what it would be used for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.