skillyjeff

By skillyjeff

Continuing from my previous blip, I took the Welta Perle camera to Adelaide. My friend Steve got the shutter unstuck after only a few minutes and it seems that despite decades without use the camera is functional. That was the good news. The bad news was that the camera takes a 116 size film which has not been made for years. It is pssible to use the camera by re-spooling a 120 film (still available) onto the 116 spool of the Perle, but we need to find a second 116 spool from somewhere.

Later at the Leica group coffee Dave and Tom wanted to check that my advice was correct. Here is Tom inspecting a 120 spool from Dave's Hasselblad. More photos of this little episode here.

So we are now searching for a 116 spool. On a side note, I bought myself an(other) antique camera - a Leica III, made in 1936 according to its serial number. It is just gorgeous and I will put up a photo or two once I figure out how to use it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.