Fi

By Fi

Ponte Sant' Angelo

Finally a break in the weather that allowed me some sight-seeing. Was woken last night by the thunder and still it feels heavy, so it hasn't cleared completely.

I figured that I have 6-8 hours of daylight for getting out and about before I leave on Friday, so I decided to kill a few birds with one stone and do an open-top bus tour! OK, so it cost 18 euro for the bumpy ride, but my ticket is valid for tomorrow as well; I guess because I 'hopped on' within their last hour or so of operation. I did 3/4 of one of the routes - darkness had fallen and I was trying to get shots in focus - no mean feat as the double-decker bounced its way down the cobbles and round the piazzas. I must admit I smiled when I saw the result of this one on the screen - I thought it came out ok. I haven't tinkered with it. Maybe I should have...The pros amongst you will most probably be telling me to get on a photography course.*

The two blurred statues are St Peter and St Paul - apparently carrying objects to depict the death of Jesus Christ, according to the Hop On/Off audio guide. By this point, we'd done the Colosseum, Circo Massimo, Piazza Venezia etc. We skirted around the Vatican City, which was my second choice for the blip and I was working out which stop to best disembark at, in order to work my way back to my 'hood, for supper. A carbonara washed down with a couple of glasses of white at an outside 'cafe/bistro' on the same road as the hotel. Job done.

Ciao for now!

* I received an email confirming my enrolment with the Academy of Photography in Warsaw, for a short course. It's called 'Digital Photography for Foreigners'. Very PC!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.