Meeting an Olympian

Today was the turning on of the Christmas Lights in Edinburgh, known as Light Night. Sir Chris Hoy was the main attraction.

I decided to volunteer for the event, I was going anyway so I might as well help out. There were 10 stages up and down George Street and by a sheer stroke of luck, I was assigned to the main 'Gold' stage. My job as a volunteer was to get certain performers to the stage, battling through the crowds.

I had the job of getting the Edinburgh Rock Choir to the stage. When I got them there, I somehow got penned in at the VIP part with all the Norwegian delegates. Then to my amazement, I turned to find myself face to face to Sir Chris Hoy; he was less than a metre away!

I absolutely shouldn't have been there but I couldn't move, there were too many people. So I went with it and enjoyed the show! This is Chris (we're practically friends now so I can call him that) the little girl that turned on the lights with him and part of Arlene Stuart, watching the fireworks - as seen from behind the stage. I had such a fantastic viewpoint!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.