Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Long Way Home

Freezing cold and foggy all day today. We set off to walk to school as normal this morning but a few steps up the drive persuaded me that we should take the car; the place was like an ice rink. And I was carrying Conor because the buggy was at my parents, so it was a doubly bad idea. I suppose it's inevitable coming into winter really.

Conor has had a cough for over a week and is sounding increasingly wheezy. I phoned the doctor's this morning and got an appointment for him at 3.30. Through a series of unfortunate events, I managed to leave my parents' house to collect Orla from school and lock my car key inside. A panicked phone call to Ed and he walked down with the spare key. As he was there, he took Orla home with him. Instead of going the usual path they took the Bogie Line* and cut across the golf course. Orla found it very exciting. "I've always wanted to know what was behind that silver gate!" she said.

Conor has a Ventolin inhaler and a spacer, just to help with the wheeziness. Hopefully it is viral and will clear up now.

*The Bogie Line is a public right of way that runs alongside the main Glasgow - Edinburgh railway. It's named after a narrow-gauge railway that used to run along it that was used to haul whinstone from Dullatur quarry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.