Christsie and me!

After work K and I headed off to Bristol to the Uni to hear a talk by Chrissie Wellington, she is a four time iornman world champion and currently holds the record over the ironman distance of 8hrs 18mins.

The iornman is the mother of all triathlons, and it's what a mear mortal of an Olympic distance triathlon like me can only dream of! It is a 2.4mile swim, 112 miles bike, 26.2mile run one after the other with no stopping.

To put it in perspective on Chrissie's last work championships in 2011 she had road rash from a bike accident two weeks before the event and had third degree burns, but still completed and won the event in Kona and did her marathon in 2hrs 52mins. I did admittedly, my first half marathon in 2hrs 14mins, what she has achieved is amazing and she only took up triathlon in 2007!

Makes me realise it's only me that's stopping me from doing what I want to do and achieve!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.