Happy Valley Racecourse

Well today was the day ... I finally got to visit the races at Happy Valley!!! After 8 yrs of living here, I've done it. Was kindly invited to join a private table at the races by Ev's mum, for which I was so grateful.

Martin wasn't able to make it this evening so I went with a friend and he was a dab hand on the betting side of things. His tips were greatly appreciated and when I had a go at betting on my own, I didn't do too badly either! So with my winnings in hand, I stopped while I was ahead and sat back and enjoyed every minute of the evening, the atmosphere and the company. Just brilliant. Highly recommend it if you are every visiting and can fit it in.

It was also special for me because in 1991 when my dad and I had visited Hong Kong together, we'd passed by Happy Valley on our tour and heard in great detail about the races and property prices around there ... and we'd discussed whether we should go to the races or not, and decided not to. But today, I did something that we might have done together so it was really special for me. Wish he was here so I could tell him I've finally been.

Thankful for the opportunity to experience that and the memories I've just made with my dear friends.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.