l u c k y . 1 3

By erincamilleee

Y O U

You are my cigarette.

I hate you, but I crave you with every bone in my body.

I take a long drag of you and finally feel at peace. It feels so right and so natural, this is what I have been missing my whole entire life.

But as soon as I take my lips off of your fragile filter, I blow the smoke of you out of my system. I watch the smoke disappear into the wind, lost forever.

No matter how many hits I take, you never stay. You run away into the wind and you aren't coming back. Gone forever, so I take drag after drag, trying to persuade you to stay here with me for just a moment longer.

The more I try to keep you -- the more hits I take to make you stay -- the more I realize I'm destroying you. I'm taking so much, and being so selfish, the slow burn is disintegrating you into nothing. Soon you'll be burned down to bone, nothing left but the rotten filter -- tossed behind and forever forgotten.

I'm sorry to be so selfish, but it doesn't stop me. In an hour I'll be back outside, hating that I still crave you. Taking another piece of your soul out of the box and chasing the smoke until you are gone again, and I am left alone and hopelessly wishing you'd come back.

The burn you leave on my lips, it's everything.
Come back to me, love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.