Lighthouses

When I was a child I can remember that, when we were on holiday, for some reason we found lighthouses and climbed them - lots of them, or at least it seemed like lots of them! I don’t remember enjoying this experience and now, as I don’t like heights, spiral staircases or confined spaces, nothing would get me up one. So, I don’t particularly like lighthouses, as they always bring back these childhood memories.

However, if I did like lighthouses, then this one would be the ideal. It seems to me like a ‘proper’ lighthouse, the kind you see drawn in children’s books.

It is the Smeaton Lighthouse in Plymouth. Designed by John Smeaton (1724-1792) and erected on the Eddystone Rock around 1757, it was moved and re-erected on the current site in 1884. I could tell a lot more about it, but it is a long journey from Plymouth to Kent, where we are now, and we are tired and hungry. London tomorrow.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.