Nesssaintee's World

By nesssaintee

Jupiter again

Some really awful and shocking news last night, with the news that a police helicopter crash landed on the roof of the Clutha bar in Glasgow.
Eight dead, 32 casualties 14 seriously injured and still in hospital.
Who would have thought such a thing could happen on a night out :-(
My thoughts are with the families of those affected.
Thankfully none of us know what's round the corner.
Today was St Andrews day and also Scottish Cup Fourth round day.
There was a minutes silence before each of the matches
Incidentally Saints beat Livingston 2-0
But football is a triviality compared to such a tragedy.
Some pubs in Inverness have had a minutes silence at 2225 this evening to pay respect.
A mostly dull day today, a little cold in the wind.
Maybe I should have blipped my sky at day break.
But I've held out for this fuzzy version of Jupiter.
Had I been able to use my binoculars I am sure my view would be a little sharper at times, but not much different from this.
Most definitely on view in this pic are Callisto below and Ganymede above
If you are looking at this on a pc, you might just make out a wee blob off the disk below Ganymede, this is Io.
Europa is a bit too close from our perspective and the sky is a bit too hazy to resolve it with my camera. But it's on the same side of Jupiter as Callisto.
Hope that you've all had a good day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.