As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

Nike Cross Regionals 2013

Wow.

We woke up at 6:00 and went downstairs for breakfast. We loaded up the van at 7:15 and drove to Bowdoin Park for the race. It was about 20 degrees out, and we weren't expecting much from the race. The gun went off and I knew that I had to get out fast, so I moved. I ended up in the top 4 after about 400 meters, so I started to hesitate a bit. Soon, though, Weilep and Tommy ran up alongside me and I knew I was doing alright. At the mile mark, I was in fourth place. That's just about where the real hill starts. I got passed by a few kids on the way up but I passed almost all of them on the way down. At the two mile mark, I was still holding into the front of the race. Around the back loop, some kids snuck up behind me, and at the three mile mark, a few passed me. I wouldn't settle for that, and I passed quite a few kids that were all bunched together in the chute just before the finish line. I came in 9th place in the whole race and ran 17:59! It felt awesome and my legs don't even hurt right now.

The girls ran well, and Avery came in 7th in her race! This is a picture of the two of us and Frazer.

We watched the Boy's Championship NY Race and saw TJ come in second. Congrats on qualifying for Nationals, TJ!

We drove back to the hotel to shower before getting lunch at the Cracker Barrel and heading home.

I got back, showered again, ate dinner, worked on my paper, and then went to Starbucks with Jaclyn, Jack, Casey, Bridget, Kaitlin, and Avery. I sat on the floor and looked like a bum.

We sat in Jack's car in the parking lot once Starbucks's closed, and Jack and I sat in my driveway until 1:15. This is what high school is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.