Insurance

More mail than usual arrived while I was away last week. The most pressing is the renewal of my home and contents insurance.

Yep, not very sexy but with the new way we are now forced to insure our homes (sum insured, rather than floor area), it's got to be done. There are various online tools to make estimates, or paying a quantity surveyor to work out the price.

From what I can work out if you're on the flat and an uncomplicated house, it's about NZ$1600 per square metre to rebuild. If you're joined to another unit, or a bit fancy then it's close to NZ$2000 per square metre to rebuild.

Another way that seems as good as any other is to use an online estimator and add 20%. Another tip is to add another $10,000 to remove the rubble of your destroyed home.

Or, you could pay around $400 for someone else to work out the figure for you.

Yep, I'm pretty much over it too ;-) I still have to phone my insurance company to discuss this new method by which they'll rake in even more profit my sum insured. I'll save that for another day.

A great day to bike to and from work. It was still nice when it came to having a wee run too.

And that was Monday.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.