Nicky1

By Nicky1

City of Remembrance

We have a new chaplain at work, and he is fantastic, a breathe of fresh air.
He is very much part of our team, the Palliative Care Team within the hospital. I am a shame to say that I have preconceived idea of a chaplain, really based on my own experience when working with chaplains in the past. He is the complete opposite of what I imagined!Apparently at his interview he started his presentation/ interview with Minnie and Mickey Mouse soft toys, explaining how the people of the voices of these characters fell in love and married. It was his introduction talking about relationships - very clever!
Anyway, he sent out an email at work today about events arranged for Christmas and one of them included building a city of remembrance. He has set up the town of Bethlehem with a nativity scene and has invited staff, patients and relatives to build a house in memory of a loved one and place it on the model of the town. He has provided clay and cutting tools to make your house in the sanctuary where he has set up the town of Bethlehem .
An absolutely fantastic idea - love it!!
So, myself and 2 of my colleagues built our houses, laughed and cried as we sat and put our model making skills to the test, very therapeutic.
Thanks Phil, you made my day.
Simple things. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.