WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

How Long Are You Here For?

A strange feeling came over me today - I wanted to take a portrait. The beach and the Water of Leith wouldn't do. Thankfully Stephen came to the rescue.

He was taking some rubbish out when we caught each other's eye and I asked if I could take his picture. Wouldn't it be handy to have a card that said your screen name and blipfoto.com so that it looked not too wacky to approach a stranger? We got to talking and Stephen asked where in the States I was from and then told me he had family in Canada. He then said 'how long are you here for?', assuming I was on holiday. I said that I had lived here for quite a while and had no plans to leave.

It got me wondering if I would do things differently if I knew my time here was limited. Would I have waited all these years to go to Linlithgow Palace or the Wallace Monument? What else have I put off doing because it will always be there?

Ultimately all of our time here on Earth is limited and we so easily forget. Ultimately, all we have is the present moment.

Ok, that's a little serious. Here's a little lightener from the fabulous Kate Reid. It's like a modern take on This Land is my Land, This Land is your Land. Kinda. And she name-checks my hometown! It does take a wee while to get going but it's worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.