Sgt. Tawastian's Lonely Blip

Haven't written much here lately; it's been so busy and hectic in the service, and I've hardly been able to backblip everything. Anyway, it was some time ago when I got promoted from corporal to sergeant, which is - in my humble opinion - such an occasion; only a few non-commissioned officers in every conscript company throughout the country can actually reach this three-chevron NCO rank, so I'm still rather surprised.

However, I by now suppose I've served well. It's been a wonderfully diverse and eventful year this far; a lot has been seen and learned, my physical fitness has increased, and I've met some really wonderful, brave and noble men and women around the country. There's been ups and downs, but mostly ups: I still remember the first day I was put in front of a company after finishing the NCO School, still feeling like I couldn't survive my duty. But that's where the story actually started and that's what I'm grateful for.

Being shy and quiet for most of my life didn't give me the best basis to become what a leader is supposed to be like in the military, but then, after being chosen to the NCO School and Special NCO Course was something that sent me on a journey that allowed me to find my hidden power. In any case, to me using my voice and speaking out my mind used to be a rough mission, but in the Army there was no choice: how'd you command a squad or even a platoon if you couldn't say a word? So the only way to succeed was to try - and that's what I did.

Try after try, and I started to achieve a better self-confidence in my own voice. I finally learned it's not an ugly voice, it's just a voice among the sea of voices. By that, I learned how to use it in different situations: frm whispering to speaking softly, from clear articulation to rough shouting and screaming. After all, I believe that facing your fear yourself is the only actual way to proceed and advance in life. After I learned there actually is nothing to be afraid of about using my voice, the way ahead became so much broader and upfront.

Speech, voice, talk - they are all important tools when yearning to achieve bigger aspirations. Being a silly little chicken afraid of myself a time ago has only helped me to understand people and prevailing conditions here, there and everywhere. It's highly important to be capable to think outside the box when needed and in a versatile ways to become a successful leader. Deeper understanding is rather needed, though it's not a particularly visible part of the military.

If three chevrons is what they want me to wear, it'll be fine by me: there are no complete soldiers, leaders or people here, and this is just the beginning. Only life and time will tell where'll this path will lead and end.

"If you want to be a great leader you must also be a great follower."

And that is where it all starts from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.