Thirty No More

By MarkusMeerkat

Attic Rooms, and Cellars.....

....are the staple diet of any 'house' based horror story; and I think I clearly read to many when I was younger (very young) as they always freaked me out.

We used to stay in an old vicarage on the North York Moors in a village called Egton when my mum would take the brownies on pack holiday.
The adjoining cottage of the vicarage had both a cellar and an attic room; and both of them scared the living daylights out of me.

I grew up in a 1970s suburban house, and this old pile in the middle of nowhere was too creepy.

Obviously not helped by my diet of James Herbert books passed down to me by my older brother.

Needles to say, I'm a little bit shocked to find that I now reside in a house with both attic rooms and a cellar!

One of the attic rooms is JJ's bedroom, and this afternoon whilst my colleagues were still hard at work I took the opportunity of a half day to make up the bed, and childproof his room.

The light that he ripped out of the wall, has been reattached with longer screws and rawl plug this time.

The bookcase has had a bracket fitted at the top to hold it to the wall; and the stairgate has gone on the door.

So as I write this he has been in his bed for at least half an hour, and I don't think he's tried to escape yet.

The cot is still in, in case he wanted to get into that instead; but if he likes his bed (he's been pretending to sleep in his brothers for a while), then I'll dismantle the cot.

The big question is, if he wakes up in the middle of the night, what will he do. Cry until someone gets him, or try to get out of his room, to find a locked stairgate in his way.

I'll let you all know tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.