Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

The Thames Barrier

Would I go up to London to do some Christmas shopping or to photograph the lights. Unlikely on both accounts! I did however get tempted to go, with the same group I went to Portsmouth with the other night, for a walk around.

Passing the Thames Barrier, we walked through an industrial area on the banks of the Thames, full of rusty scenes and shopping trolleys half submerged in the mud at low tide. My first thought was that the barrier was closed yesterday and that would have been a rare sight but the scenes at low tide were quite simply stunning.

We flew over the Thames on the cable car, landing safely at the docks where we wandered around for an hour or so, enjoyed a coffee and finally heading home on the Docklands Light Railway.

Another super day! The dogs, not that used to be left for hours in the day, had their legs knotted by the time I arrived home. It was well worth the trip. I've only edited this one photo as I need to curl up for a bit before I get my teeth into the rest.

The idea was to get the barrier from an unusual perspective. Well, you know me, the wild fennel had to get the prominent position over the man made structure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.