Crowded, with blue skies

Today's mission was to find battery-powered fairy lights. It's difficult enough to find them online, let alone on the high street. I tried locally at first, but no joy. I walked to Brixton and explored there, but I was out of luck. There was nothing for it - I headed to Oxford Street. It was hell. The speed was set on shuffle and the pedestrians on the pavement spilled on to the road. Thankfully, the road parallel to Oxford Street was empty and the department stores have back doors - this is a much better way to travel. However, once inside a megalopolis of merchandise, it was as crowded as Oxford Street. It was so disheartening looking around. Most of the goods I saw seemed temporary and mass-produced, so different from the unique pieces I see at local markets, and people were thronged around them with that look of 'panic buy' that you see around this time of year.

I found the fairy lights in John Lewis, where the staff were lovely and helpful. They must have been under so much strain all day. I could hear baubles smashing and saw ornamental reindeer toppling over - the aisles aren't wide enough for so many people.

Phew! I'm not going to be on Oxford Street again any time soon, but my trip there was successful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.