bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

urban skyline

Had to drive into central Manchester from my home in Lancashire early this morning to present a significant tender bid. Drove through the Rossendale Valley where the skies were amazing and the windmills on the hills looked lit up, but no chance to stop so had to console myself with the fact that TRex came on the radio so I blasted "Get it On....you're dirty sweet and you're my girl' all the way along the A56 to settle the nerves and get into gutsy mode!
Was cooped up in high rise office block all morning, but on the 11th floor there is an outside balcony, from which I just had time to take a few shots. Some of you may recall that I blipped a side on shot of the new Co-op Headquarters that have not long been finished in Manchester some weeks ago, and said I couldn't do it justice as the front looks like the bow of a huge cruise liner.....well I was high up enough to show you it today. Even the smoke coming out of the top....I'm sure that will be some clever sustainable recycling energy scheme and not the top of a huge fireplace!

I was going to crop the rest of the picture down, but decided the juxtaposition of the old brick chimney pots and University roofs were a great contrast....and I love the bright red of the crane and the fact that you can see the little lego sized men in their yellow jackets inside. It was a gorgeous crisp and bright day so for once the Manchester skyline didn't look grey and drizzly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.