PhilipC

By PhilipC

Not much Jelly

Looking for colour in a drab garden, I came across our small crab apple tree. The apples vary between 1 and 1.5 cm across. Not much use to make Crab Apple Jelly, but at least it provided me with a subject for close-up practice.

It reminded me, remotely, of the 'Rannoch Crab', the largest Crab Apple Tree in Scotland (allegedly), on the edge of the 'Black Wood of Rannoch' (so evocative a name). I photographed the tree in October, and it is now in my 'Collection' of ancient, large or interesting trees from Perthshire's Big Tree Country, alongside the Glen Lyon Ash, the Castle Menzies red-barked Californian Madrona, the Fortingall Yew (oldest living thing by far in Europe, it seems), and other magnificent specimens of this and that.

Now I'm determined to find more colour in our dreary garden, even if I have to go macro to blip it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.