Yedameister

By Yeda

After The Storm

I drive through Delaware's White Clay Creek State Park twice each day during the week. My "job" as a host mom to an international high school Sophomore from China includes carpool duty where I deliver 3-4 students to their homes after school.

Simply by osmosis, I should have a small understanding of Chinese, but this isn't the case. They have less than five minutes of banter then they all whip out their electronic devices. Deadly silent. Except sometimes any one of them will spontaneously and unabashedly breakout in song at full volume. No one is self conscious in my car.

A few weeks ago I was unjustly cited for rolling through a stop sign. Four kids in the car and no one could confirm my innocence because of those devices.

Bet they haven't discovered this relic of a barn we pass every day in the park. It truly is a beautiful ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.