By Himself

By Himself

My trophy

I have no special reason for having blipped this little trophy (it's about 4 inches high) except that I needed something to take my mind of a stressful time at the computer. I have been fielding a torrent of queries from technical guys working on my website project who are too young to understand that mature minds work a little more slowly than theirs.

This should be sitting on our kitchen dresser but Herself has attempted to hide it because "it's a bit grubby". So it's cleaner now (toothpaste sort-of works). You may be able to make out that it was awarded in 1958, which was the year of...
The end of Sputnik 1
The first use of the word 'Aerospace'
The 'Ban the Bomb' peace symbol was designed
Elvis became a soldier
The BBC Radiophonic Workshop was founded (creators of themes such as Dr Who)
The Beatles had their first ever recording session
The first integrated circuit was created
Women were admitted into The House of Lords
Instant Noodles went on sale
And I was awarded this - but for the life of me, I can't remember why! EDIT - see my reply to Orlap's comment for the probable reason!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.