Never forgotten

It's a year today since my dad passed away. I took the day off work because I didn't know how I would be feeling - the last couple of weeks have been difficult as I remembered how poorly he was, and what we were doing and feeling.

A day of reflection has not been too bad - I went up to church to lay a wreath, we put this little brass plate on the bench next to my mum's, and I had a few quiet minutes with them.

This afternoon I went back to the hospice to leave a donation - I am still overwhelmed when I think of the care and compassion the staff showed to my dad in his last days. That was when emotion got the better of me! But once again they were lovely - I sat in the little chapel for a while, then went out to the gardens and calmed down a bit.

There's not a day goes by when I don't think of Dad, I miss him terribly, still think about ringing him to talk about the football - but it is good to know he is at peace, watching over us all, and I know he will be especially proud of Charlotte.

God bless Dad, love you always xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.