Kipper Cabin

By KipperCabin

The Carver

I've stood on Lime Bay often. Mum and I have a favourite bench just off the Westsong on the path around the point. We stop there for tea. Today we had a flask of tea and Spice & Toffee cookies that I'd made this morning (sort of for Christmas, but I only managed to rescue half a dozen of them, once Fred got wind of them).

Anyway, there we were today sat on the point, considering the sublime texture of baked toffee (ANGELS WE HAVE HEARD ON HIGH), and a BC Ferry suddenly appears out of the mist on the Juan de Fuca heading straight into the harbour! !! Crazy! Just crazy! Cos there's no where for a BC Ferry to dock on the harbour!

So, I lock Mums wheels off and scamper down the point to snap the rogue ferry.

And down there, on the very edge of Lime Bay, embedded in the rock are these hands. No guide post, no plaque. Nothing to ID it. Just two iron hands in the rock ... carving. Right where no one will see them unless they scamper down the rocks.

I came across these iron hands a few months ago.

Epidemic. I expect there's more of them around town.

That's me Mam just over the ridge in her red coat ... supping her tea!

It was a great day. And then the ISS shot over at 6.32pm ... on the dot.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.