Back home again

And the sunshine is glorious. It's cold. The garden is messy. But it's great to catch up.

I returned to a pile of lovely Christmas cards and I've so enjoyed opening them and reading the messages from my friends.

The delay yesterday got silly. We had checked in at 9 for an 11.00 departure. They knew there was a problem and Monarch kept us very well informed. They gave us a refreshment voucher at the check in desk and I've had an email from them this morning in case I need evidence to claim anything against my travel insurance.

The outgoing Birmingham plane had developed a fault soon after take off and had to return to Birmingham. They sent for another plane from Gatwick, and called in a pilot who was on his day off. They got together a crew and set off very late from Birmingham.

The plane arrived in Funchal at 17.30. We'd all bonded by then (egged on by a group on a hen party weekend). We cheered and applauded as the Monarch plane approached and landed. This mood continued. When the pilot spoke to us, we were quite vocal in our appreciation, for our "rescuers".

We landed in Birmingham eight and a half hours late - but the time had passed quickly. My fellow passengers were a lovely crowd, and I made some good friends.

When I finally arrived home, a little black cat came out of the shadows. Cyd, welcoming me home, and completely forgetting that she can't stand turkey Dreamies.

Sparkie is home too now - purring for England, and catching up with her sleep.

I had a marvellous little break in Funchal, but it's nice to catch up.

Oh - and the blip is one of my lingering geraniums in a tub

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.